2016 Philanthropy Award Recipients


Congratulations to our 2016 Morgan County Philanthropy Award Recipients! We are truly blessed to live in a community where so many dedicated people give their time and talent to benefit our community.

Ruth Rusie Legacy Award: Kenny Hale

Kenny Hale, the Morgan County Plan Director, worked tireless to help establish the Old Town Waverly Park. Kenny has also spent a lot of time and effort working in the community to make it a better place with passion and love that inspires others.

Founders Award: Polly Amy

Polly has served on the CFMC Board of Directors, Scholarship Committee, working as an invaluable member of this organization. She has touched countless lives through her scholarships and generosity. Polly has written two cookbooks to fund the Never Too Late Scholarship to help people over the age of 30 go back to school. She also created a scholarship for students at Eminence High School to help prevent the use of tobacco in honor of her late husband who passed due to smoking complications. This scholarship has been so successful that other schools are looking to start similar programs.

Founders Award: Raymond Blunk

Raymond started serving with the CFMC when the Mooresville Community Foundation and the Morgan County Community Foundation merged in 2000. For the CFMC, he has served as president, treasurer, and a member of the grants committee. Raymond has also been active in his church and a long-time member of the Lions Club.

Founders Award: Jim Johnson

Jim has been an active member of the community and served on the community foundation board for nearly a decade. On the CFMC Board, he served many years as treasurer and as a member of finance committee. Jim is also a former president of HomeBank

Corporate Citizen of the Year: Steve Langley

Steve Langley, Mt. Olive Manufacturing

Mt. Olive Manufacturing, Inc. owner Steve Langley is a supporter of STEM education in Morgan County, having supported the Link Observatory Space Science Institute's programming for Morgan County school children, as well as elementary and high school STEM educational programming and scholarships. As an owner of the local company, Mt. Olive Manufacturing, Steve treats his clients and employees with care and gives credit where it is due. Started in 1990, Mt. Olive has moved to different addresses as it has grown but it rooted here in Morgan County.

Non-Profit Staff Member of the Year: Diana Roy

Diana Roy, United Way of Central Indiana

Diana Roy has been serving the community as the Morgan County Area Director of United Way of Central Indiana for over 10 years. She passionately shares stories and works well beyond the 9-5 weekday hours to make the community a better place for all.

Non-Profit Board Member of the Year: Brent Worth

Over the past 11 years, Brent has donated his time working with Artesian Little League by serving as treasurer and safety officer, coaching, fundraising, serving concessions, and whatever else needs to be done. Brent also serves the community as a board member for Fallen Officers, and he is a captain for the Morgan County Sheriff's Office.

Volunteer of the Year: David Reddick

David Reddick, Morgan County Bicentennial Celebration

David Reddick has spent the past two years organizing and coordinating events and programs throughout Morgan County in honor of the Indiana Bicentennial. The county’s yearlong celebration culminated in the Bicentennial Torch Relay. Dave was instrumental in ensuring official bicentennial programs and projects were completed, spending countless hours volunteering for the celebration. He was an advisor, author and cheerleader for all groups in the county who helped to make the Indiana Bicentennial Celebration a success.

Youth Volunteers of the Year: Kate Plunkett & Alexa Shrake

Alexa Shrake, IU Morgan Cancer Center and Relay for Life Volunteer. Kristinia Love, Morgan County Substance Abuse.
Alexa Shrake and her mom Kristinia Love

Kate Plunkett and Alexa Shrake visited the IU Morgan Cancer Center with a group from Relay for Life, and were inspired to create a book drive for the IU Morgan Cancer Center after touring the facility and seeing a small, older collection of books in the patient waiting area. Wanting to share their love of reading, they collected 800 books for the waiting room through a book drive, and now the titles can be rotated in and out to give patients new selections to read. The waiting area has been renamed, the Patient Hope and Healing Center.

Non-Profit of the Year: Morgan County Schools of Religious Education

This organization is a two-year Bible study program for third and fourth grade students throughout the county. Children are taught good character values using Biblical stories, with each class devoted to teaching boys and girls how to apply Christian attitudes and principles to everyday living. WRE began in 1951 and is entirely funded by the churches, organizations, individuals, and private donations. They service 14 schools teaching 1200-1500 students each year.

Service Club of the Year: Martinsville Noon Lions Club

Dave Rinehart, Martinsville Noon Lions Club
Dave Rinehart, Martinsville Noon Lions

During their 91 years of service in Martinsville, these Lions have been seen all over the county serving in numerous ways, including conducting vision test for children at schools and supporting scholarships and local projects. They work hard to raise funds to give back to the local and state-wide community.

For more information on the Morgan County Philanthropy Awards please visit our website.

No comments:

Post a Comment